Lick-and-Go-Seek and other Kidventures

I’m not embarrassed to admit that if I didn’t have kids, I probably would have spent the entire day on the internet. I would have started off tying to do something productive, and ended up reading about Honey-Boo-Boo’s mother.

My monkey-brain just cannot resist the temptation of clicking to enlarge the image of a woman with 7 chins.

As I was working through a Project Euler problem (yes, I’m sticking to that story), my children were plotting against me.

My daughter’s strategy was the classic Guilt Trip.

“Mommy, can you play with us?” (puppy dog eyes)

“Mommy, I have to tell you something.” (sign language: “I” + “Love” + “You”)

“Mommy, can you play with us now?”

My counter-attack of “Sure. Just 10 more minutes…Almost done…. Give me another 10 minutes” was working pretty well on Cece, but Daniel wasn’t fooled. He knows a stall tactic when he sees one.

Daniel is a little less risk-averse, and doesn’t mind doing a stretch in Time Out for a good cause. His tactic was to push my computer out of the way, climb on my lap, and attempt to lick me in the face.

That boy knows my weakness.

Two minutes later I was tearing around the corner, dodging stuffed animals lobbed at my head, tongue wagging out of my mouth, screaming “I’m going to lick you!!!!”

Lick Tag quickly evolved into Lick-and-Go-Seek, followed by Swiffer-The-Floor-by-Wearing-My-Children-Like-Snow-Shoes, and finally Dissolve-Into-a-Pile-of-Giggles.

Swiffer Child

Swiffer Child

If the downside of having kids is that you don’t always have the freedom to do what you want to do, the upside is that sometimes what they wanted to do is more fun anyway.

Leave a Reply

