The Trouble with Writing about Work

I’ve received many requests to write about what it’s like working as a Junior Developer.

The point of my blog is to share information that can help others who are trying to break into the field, so I’ve tried to find an angle from which I can approach that subject.

Writing about work, however, is a dangerous endeavor.

I’ve had only one developer job, so if I write about work, there’s no question as to which work I’m writing about.

If I write about the people, I’m invading their privacy. If I write about the company, I’m potentially revealing information they don’t want exposed to their competitors–the tools they use, their processes, etc. It’s hard to write about work without revealing too much about the people or the company.

For those reasons, I can’t write much about my job.

I am, however, completely open to answering any questions you have in a direct message. Send me a message on Twitter, @JulieTorero, and I’ll try to answer as best I can.

Once I’ve put together a good list of questions, I’ll also try to interview a few other Junior Developers and post the cumulative results. Leave a comment if you have anything specific you’d like me to ask, or if you’re a Junior Dev and would be willing to be interviewed.

2 thoughts on “The Trouble with Writing about Work

  1. Thanks for your post. I think it would be awesome if you were able to interview women jr developers and you could ask some questions about what it’s like to break into a male dominated field. What are the challenges and what advice do women have for chicks just starting out.

    Thank you for continuing to blog. You are full of helpful information and I”m grateful to have the benefit of your experience!

    Like

    • Glad it’s been helpful, and I think that’s a great idea. I’ll try to see if I can find a few people to interview…not an easy task since there are so few of us, but hopefully you will be one more. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

