The Unlikely Role Model

When I first started blogging, I had a vague idea that real, live people might read my blog. Perhaps 3 or 4 people would type in a random URL, end up on my page, and spend a few minutes reading about Yak Shaving.

For the most part, though, I expected that my writings would float out into digital space, bouncing around in zero gravity with all the other unloved bits and bytes of the universe.

What I did not picture was that I would ever get the beautiful opportunity to be a role model for other Unlikely Developers.

When I say “Unlikely Developers”, I’m talking about people who don’t fit the mould: people who, by not fitting the stereotype, are constantly at risk of convincing themselves–or being convinced by others–that they are not cut out for this.

Writing has always been cathartic for me, but what has been even more cathartic is connecting with my readers.

Through my blog, I’ve met several people who were just beginning their journey–women, parents, low income and minority coders-in-the-making who are so passionate about learning to code, and so worthy of a spot in the tech world.

They’ve shared their joys with me as they get their first job or get accepted into their school of choice. They share their frustrations when they can’t get past a problem and wonder, “Am I kidding myself to think I could really be a developer?”

It is such an honor to be a part of these wonderful people’s lives, and to be the one to tell them, “That’s normal. I felt it too. You CAN be a great developer.”

Leave a Reply

